The first time I heard that phrase was during a Little League practice about 18 years ago. My first thought was, “No, it’s not.”

It’s not all good at the N-MUSD, but it is important to point out progress when it happens.

In two recent posts, I pointed out the shabby, disrespectful manner in which the U.S. and California flags were folded and stored. Here’s the picture I included:

flags

A few days ago, I reached out to Trustee Vicki Snell and asked for some help in correcting this process. I am pleased to report that she acted quickly and that a solution is imminent.

This is no small matter. It matters to me personally because both my mother and father served in the U.S. Army in WWII. My father enlisted in Manhattan the day after Pearl Harbor and my mother enlisted two years later, becoming part of U.S. history as a member of the first women’s U.S. armed forces unit to serve overseas.

It is important to me professionally, so to speak, as it should be to you as well, because the flags represent the liberty we enjoy and the nation’s foundation of equal opportunity for all. In all the world, there is no greater reminder of these principles than the United States flag.

Thanks to Vicki Snell for the prompt resolution of this oversight.

Steve Smith
Taxpayer, N-MUSD

