Twenty-five days after I asked superintendent a simple question, I finally got an answer – not from him, but from Trustee Vicki Snell.

The simple question I asked on Oct. 31 was, “What is the ETA for the Mariners’ Gold Ribbon report?” What I got in return a few days later was the answer to another question – one I did not ask.

So, we played ring around the rosie for a few days before I got busy with other stuff and put the matter on hold.

When I got back to trying to find out approximately when the report would be issued, I e-mailed Snell and copied board pres Dana Black. Since the super was clearly not interested in answering me, I did not bother to cc him. And I went out of my way to help Snell understand that I was not looking for an exact date and that if the report was a little before or after, that’s OK. Just get me in the ballpark.

Snell responded shortly after I sent the e-mail and gave me the date: March 17, 2017.

That date is a Friday, and it is also St. Patrick’s Day, 2017. St. Patrick is celebrated for thirty years of work in Ireland where it is estimated that he converted over 135,000 people, established 300 churches, and consecrated 350 bishops.

Regardless of one’s religious beliefs, there is no deny that he accomplished much in his life.

I wonder if he was compensated based on performance…

Steve Smith
Taxpayer, N-MUSD

 

