I would not work in an environment in which my right to speak freely was in jeopardy.

I would not work in an environment in which the fear of losing my job caused me to remain silent about abuses of any kind.

I would not work in an environment that caused me to compromise my principles.

I would not work in an environment in which one method of getting ahead is to report on others.

I would not work in an environment in which people were routinely misled at best, or lied at worst.

I would not work in an environment in which I felt I could not constructively question the senior management of the organization without fear of retaliation.

And I most certainly would not work in an environment in which I believed my suggestions for improvement were not welcome.

I would quit first, no matter how lucrative the pay or how dependent I was on the income. And quit I did in 2007, without a new job on which to fall back.

But, that’s just me.

