I’ve lived in Costa Mesa for 28 years. I like it here. I also like Newport Beach, primarily, I admit, for the “Beach” component.

I have no desire to fix what is not broken in Newport Beach Schools. If you are happy with them, so am I, and the last thing I want to do is mess with success. I even wrote on  my first “Newport” blog post that I am opposed to the mandatory redistribution of PTA or other privately collected funds.

So, now you have my commitment to you in writing.

All is well in your schools, but there is trouble in some of Costa Mesa’s. On the Westside of town, there are schools that are severely underperforming and have been for many years. I want an opportunity to try some new and different ideas but I can’t get there unless you vote me in and ask your friends, family, and co-workers to do the same.

The kids on the Westside are at the mercy of adults. I’d like to be their voice – one of the adults who gives them new opportunities, new challenges, and new successes. I’d like to give them hope.

The impact on you and your schools? Zero. As I wrote, I will not mess with success.

Thank you for your vote – and tell a friend!

Steve

 

